Views
Helpful
Replies

FlexConnect in a local network

B A
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have basic knowledge of FlexConnect and when it's used - branch offices and remote sites. Recently I've been told by some auditors that we should configure FlexConnect in our local network to increase wireless speed and quality. I've never heard of using it in a local network. Does it make sense to enable FlexConnect in a local network? 

Thank you for any feedback.

Btw. we have one WLC and 70 APs.

4 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

saravlak
Spotlight
Spotlight

For local campuses scenario i've never deployed flex-connect mode, if there's no special use cases and everything already works fine then don't make any changes. only places have deployed flex in-campus is when there's cloud WLC in place.

Wireless speed and Quality don't change between flex and local mode -it's the same LAN/WAN link at the campus, it's only the uplink datapath that makes the difference.

From a wireless traffic perspective, it's capwap(local-mode) Vs no-capwap(flex-mode) to upstream and it doesn't make big difference in LAN.

Also, there'll be overhead to maintain WLAN-VLAN flex config and relevant switch trunk config needed in the current environment and whenever the network grows.

hope it helps to understand from high-level.

View solution in original post