Views
Helpful
Replies

FlexConnect in a local network

B A
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have basic knowledge of FlexConnect and when it's used - branch offices and remote sites. Recently I've been told by some auditors that we should configure FlexConnect in our local network to increase wireless speed and quality. I've never heard of using it in a local network. Does it make sense to enable FlexConnect in a local network? 

Thank you for any feedback.

Btw. we have one WLC and 70 APs.

42 Replies 42

Well, users complain occasionally but I don't think it's important in this story.

Anyway, what negative impact could it have if we enable FlexConnect?

As captured before, there's no negative impact but there's overhead to redesign/reconfigure the network appropriately to accommodate to flex and continue do so when new APs were added. Also, now the physical WLC can be replaced with cloud wlc, if and when needed. 

Here is my 2cents.  Back in the day's when the 2504 came out, folks were worried about the backplane being an issue so some converted to flexconnect.  I have seem large environments where the customer had 5508's as an example and only had one port connected to the network.  So the myth is, does it really help, I don't really think so unless you are crossing the WAN and you want to have majority of the traffic to stay local.  You need to also keep in mind the limitations of flexconnect and make sure that, if you decide to go this route, that the limitations doesn't hurt your design and your existing user experience.  Layer 3 roaming is not supported and there is also a limitation on the number of ap's in a flexconnect group.  Review the flexconnect guide and make sure you understand the various scenarios and limitations specified in that guide.  

You can also test with one ap and actually see if the auditors theory is valid in your situation.  Sometimes filks keep what they hear and see in other environments as "the correct way".  That is not always the case.