cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to add AP 2701i to a Virtual Wireless Controller?

cisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I have set up a new installation of a Virtual Wireless Controller version 8.6. I am quite new to this software so I need some help om how to join the APs to the controller. I have connected a new AP to the same VLAN/IP-net as the controllers management-interface, but I can not see the AP from the controller. What do I need to do?

Best regards,

Thor-Egil

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

If you don't require a 8.6 feature, try the latest 8.5 or even better the more stable 8.3 release.

They made some changes in 8.6, like this one:

* The filenames of Cisco Aironet 1700, 2700, 3700, and IW3702 AP software images have been changed from ap3g2-x to c3700-x format. Therefore, if you are upgrading to Release 8.5 or a later release from Release 8.3 or an earlier release, these APs will download the image twice and reboot twice.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Post the complete output to the following commands:
1. vWLC: sh sysinfo;
2. vWLC: sh time;
3. AP: sh version; and
4. AP: sh ip interface brief

Hi,

3 files attached:

putty-AP.pdf: Output from AP

putty-controller.pdf: Output from vWLC

putty-boot.pdf: Output from the APs boot-sequence.

I have replaced some of the IPs with x.x.x.x in the logs.

As you can see in the logs the AP can see the controller and tries to join, but I cannot see the AP on the controller.

You have an "unprimed" AP: AIR-AP2702I-UXK9
Please follow this manual to prime them: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/wireless/access_point/ux-ap/guide/uxap-mobapp-g.html
Most notably, you have to configure a location (Country) for your WLC first, without this you won't get far.

Hi,