Views
Helpful
Replies

Why, when AP joins EWC, the AP gets an EWC image

Shiden
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

This is my first time working with EWC, and I'm a bit confused about the joining process of the access point.

First, here are the hardware components I'm working with:

Access Point: C9120AXE-E

EWC: C9130AXE-EWC-E

Version: 17.9.4a

I don't understand why when the access points join the EWC, they get an EWC image. Is this image necessary for the access points to function with an EWC, or would CAPWAP be sufficient?

Here's what's happening after the access points join the EWC:

Shiden_0-1708953547283.png

When I display the joined access points, I see:

Shiden_1-1708954278697.png

These access points should only function as simple access points.

Is it recommended to change the image type to CAPWAP?

What is the difference between the EWC and CAPWAP image types?

I already say thanks to the people who will take time to answer this post.

Best regards

19 Replies 19

Ok interesting!  Another gotcha to watch out for with EWC!

Hi @Rich R ,

I just saw that the secondary EWC switched from the EWC to the CAPWAP image over night even he should stay EWC. So it's important to set the IP address of the EWC and the access point to a static IP address.

I really do not get why Cisco designed it this way. It would be so much easier if you could upload the needed CAPWAP images of the access points to the EWC  and configure that they should only download the CAPWAP image.

Hello Shiden,

I can absolutely confirm your findings. Sorry that I saw this and confirmed it so lately...

For me it is the reason to never sell again cisco in small business and tell customers that there are cheaper, less time consuming and smarter products availible at market.