cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Jabber 10.5 - Cannot create custom contacts

kylebrogers
Level 4
Level 4

When I go to File > New > Custom Contact I get the window where I can enter my contact's data.  I put in the display, first, and last names as well as a work phone number.  When I hit save, the following error pops up:

Unable to save custom contact.

Try again later or contact your system administrator

I am a local admin on the PC, which is Win 7 64. 

16 Replies 16

LARRY LARSEN
Level 1
Level 1

I get the same thing since I upgraded to V10.5.0.  I found that if I actually exit Jabber and re-launch the program, sign back in, it works.  Unfortunately, I have not had time to fully fix the issue.  I just applied the band aid. 

Hi.

We are facing the same problem. Has it been solved?

Thank you.

I have not had any time to fix or report it.  I just keep using the work around.

Hello All,

I also have this issue very annoying. Seems to affect almost all versions of jabber and doesn't have to be a custom contact either. Some times if we add someone outside the org it will fail too.

Thanks!

I am on 10.6.4 and had to restart client as mentioned above.

I have been experiencing these same issues when I'm signed into jabber on two clients. On my desktop and the laptop. If I sign-out of Jabber on both and sign back in on just one device the contact that generated the error shows that has been updated correctly and any new contacts from that point forward do not generate the error until I sign into another machine.

Tapan Dutt
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi 

Make sure at the time you are adding a Custom contact in Jabber, the client is connected to presence server. 

I assume that the above is true, if that is the case please can you generate a Problem report for the time this happens.

Thanks

Tapan