Views
Helpful
Replies

Keep Chat Session Active while browsing web pages

extraco
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I currently have a Cisco TAC Case open for this question (SR 684684389) and have been directed to DevNet since this is out of their scope. Please bare with me as I'm a network admin, not a developer. I have a website with Cisco Chat powered through social miner. After a user enters in all of the form fields and starts a chat with an agent then decides to continue surfing that same web site, the social miner chat disappears and ends the chat on the agent side as well as the customer side. The only way for the customer to chat again is to enter all of the customers information in the form fields and establish a new chat session. Is there any way to have it where the chat session stays alive and active even while surfing web pages on that same web site or is this something that I need to get the web developers to fix?

Thanks,

David Sanders

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi David,

Thanks for confirming this.

The 'classic' pop-over chat UI is supposed to be launched in a separate popup window so that the end user can browse away from the original webpage while still being able to chat via the popup window. Embedding it via an iFrame will make this page load as a 'child' of the parent webpage - it will therefore be unloaded completely when the browser unloads the original webpage, leading to chat session disconnect.

If you are interested in actually embedding a 'chat bubble' inside the original webpage, we are just about to launch a completely new customer-side chat UI that allows you to do exactly this. Watch out for announcements regarding CCX release 11.6(2) which is expected to be out by end of July which will have this capability.

Thanks,

Nagendra U M

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

namahesh
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi David,