cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Passing date between an ICM script and a CVP voice application (call studio application): Has the call studio app to be invoked as a subdialog?

carlos.trivino
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to CVP Call Studio and I've been reading Cisco CVP documentation and it seems that in order to pass data (parameters) between the ICM script and the Call Studio application the CVP_Subdialog_Start and CVP_Subdialog_End elements have to be used when a Cisco CVP voice application is invoked as a subdialog. And here is the question: If I want to pass parameters between the ICM script and a CVP voice application, do I have to invoke the voice application as a sub-dialog? The following is the extract from the 'Element Specifications for Cisco Unified CVP VXML Server and Cisco Unified Call Studio Release 9.0(1)' page 43 CVP Dialog Return:

For a Cisco Unified CVP Voice application invoked as a subdialog, the CVP Subdialog Return element

must be used to return data back to the calling application. The element should be used in place of Hang

Up elements throughout the call flow. Like a Hang Up element, the element has no exit states.

Note: There is one exception to the above description. If the voice application will only ever be called

by a Subdialog Invoke element (that is, never by Unified ICM), then the Subdialog Start and

Subdialog Return elements may be used instead. Refer to Subdialog Invoke, Subdialog Return

and Subdialog Start for details.

The settings for this element are used to define what data to pass back to the calling application. The Caller

Input setting must be assigned a value in order for the application to validate, since it is required to have

a value. Each element setting corresponds to an ICM ECC external variable name, and therefore the

configuration values must conform to requirements associated with ICM ECC variables. Refer to the Unified