cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IP Phones stuck on detecting Network?

JBrav0
Level 1
Level 1

First things I have to explain why I an incompetent idiot is here asking this question. I work at a low budget community college and last month I was what most would consider a help desk or IT Level 1? I started studying Networking because I was interested. The start of this month is my first month in Networking because the last guy gave a sudden 2 weeks in and was the only Networking guy here. So now I'm here flying solo and trying my best, so sorry if I don't understand some things. 

With that said I really would appreciate any help. 

Recently a switch died and that lead to a certain user to lose connection, after changing the switch the phone would no longer register. It would stay at "Detecting network". I have no idea why, but thought it would have been short circuited due to being PoE. luckily it was on the list to replace since it was old. So I pulled out a an 8811 model Cisco Phone, went to CUCM and did what I had been doing for a while. The last guy left me a note that he would already have a template done for the new phones and all I would have to do is super copy that template and fill it out with the right extension and name as well as connect the users AD account. So far its worked on everyone's phone that I have done. 

After all had been done, I connect the new phone to the network and nothing. just stuck at detecting network. I tried 3 different phones (made sure to delete the other profiles). Nothing. maybe it was the switch so I took my office phone out and  plugged this new one in. Nothing. I manually went to the settings, turned DHCP off and copied all the settings from my working phones to it, with the exception of the IP address, I found one that wasn't reserved. Nothing. 

So at this point I'm at a loss. MAC address is good, no duplicates on extensions, MAC address or profiles. AD has been synching in just fine.