Views
Helpful
Replies

Switching between two PRI lines if one gets down

Deep9769
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm quite new to the Cisco unified communications manager. In my premises I have two PRI connection at gateway 

Primary PRI => 022 4303 "extension number" for Incoming calls  and we need dial 90 "mobile number" for outgoing calls with reference to my Cisco up phone's

In similar way for 

Secondary PRI => we need dial from Cisco ip *90 "mobile number" for outgoing calls.

But I want to configure my gateway in such way so that it can automatically switch between PRI lines if any one PRI is down, so users doesn't need to change the dailing pattern if any one PRI is down or not working 

Requesting you to please suggest how I'll able to achieve this, I'm sure there are some parameters which I need configure in gateway but I don't know how to do it, please any one guide me

39 Replies 39

It seems that you have some confusion about terminology, a SIP trunk is not the same as a PRI. A PRI is an ISDN type of circuit that carries TDM traffic, it does not carry SIP traffic. I’ll get back to you on your dial peers when I’m in front of a computer.

Response Signature

Reading what you wrote once more I see that you're using two different route patterns, 90 that sends calls to the gateway and uses the SIP trunk to you service provider and *90 that uses the MGCP controlled PRIs. To get an automatic switch between these two you would configure this.

1. RP that matches whatever you want it to match, for example 90!
  2. A RG that contains the SIP trunk towards the gateway
  3. Another RG that contains the MGCP controlled PRIs on the gateway
  4. Put these RGs into a RL
  5. Configure whatever number modification you need on the RL/RG level

That's all there is to this, assuming that your gateway configuration is correct.

On the dial peers I would based on the configuration you shared recommend that you do these changes.