cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Carrier Cutover Trouble

pbiggs
Level 1
Level 1

If anyone can help me with this issue it would be greatly appreciated. I'm a new Sys Admin working in a Cisco shop. In our headquarters they had moved from using a router to a Cisco 9400 which also handles routing. Currently we have a line connection to one of our branches that is working but they wanted to upgrade the bandwidth and the carrier has installed a new service line. They provisioned the line and gave us instruction it was to be a tagged line for vlan#55. The plan had been to do the changeover early in the morning so it would not cause an outage. We tried this morning and failed. No access whatsoever.

I configured a new port on the 9400 switch similar to what is there and working now. I also configured the router interface as well. Here are the configs: **Please note that the IP had to be changed back on the switch so it would work on the old line for today.

9400#show int g9/0/48 switchport
Name: Gi9/0/48
Switchport: Enabled
Administrative Mode: trunk
Operational Mode: down
Administrative Trunking Encapsulation: dot1q
Negotiation of Trunking: On
Access Mode VLAN: 1 (default)
Trunking Native Mode VLAN: 1 (default)
Administrative Native VLAN tagging: enabled
Voice VLAN: none
Administrative private-vlan host-association: none
Administrative private-vlan mapping: none
Administrative private-vlan trunk native VLAN: none
Administrative private-vlan trunk Native VLAN tagging: enabled
Administrative private-vlan trunk encapsulation: dot1q
Administrative private-vlan trunk normal VLANs: none
Administrative private-vlan trunk associations: none
Administrative private-vlan trunk mappings: none
Operational private-vlan: none
Trunking VLANs Enabled: 1,55
Pruning VLANs Enabled: 2-1001
Capture Mode Disabled
Capture VLANs Allowed: ALL

Protected: false
Unknown unicast blocked: disabled
Unknown multicast blocked: disabled
Vepa Enabled: false
Appliance trust: none
9400#