Views
Helpful
Replies

Channel Group Problems

rlpspaden
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Here's the issue that I could use some ideas on.  I've created a four physical port channel group using LACP and ethernet gbics from a switch I'm adding to our core 3560.  I've verified that the ports and channel groups on both ends are not shutdown and the info matches.  The switch I'm adding does in fact work (configured and tested in my office) and is properly configured for our environment... but this is my first attempt at a channel group.  The distance of the lines is 25 to 30 feet and I used straight through cables, I plan on trying crossover cables when I have some time to re-terminate the ends, but other than that I'm out of ideas.

Can anyone offer any suggestions?

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

That is incorrect all 3560 copper ports support mdix .  If you have no light and you are using a straight thru cable then you have probably hardcoded the speed and duplex,  auto mdix will not work unless all the ports are set as auto for speed and duplex for the connections otherwise you must use a crossover. Change all ports to auto for speed and duplex on both ends .  Between cisco devices there is little need to hardcode speeds anymore.

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Amit Singh
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Sean,

You should be fine using straight through cable as most of the switches today support Auto-MDIX. Please check the port configuration guide for the IOS that you are running on the switches.