Views
Helpful
Replies

Multiple vlan access to port connecting phone system

mvaldez83
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

I'm new to networking and was looking for some assistance. First off im using packet tracer to diagram my senario as I will be receiving my equipment next week to deploy.

Hardware to be used:

1. 2 catalyst 3560 switches

2. all connect to a sonic wall router

I have two companies that work in the same office space. I need to keep these companies seperate on their own vlan. They will however need to share the phone system.

(Packet tracer file uploaded to give those who have the time to see what I put together.)

Here is my current test senario

on switch 0 i have:

company A on vlan 2 computers 172.16.1.100 and 101 255.255.0.0 FA0/10 FA0/11

company B on vlan 3 computers 172.16.2.102, 255.255.0.0  FA0/12

pbx on a trunk port 172.16.0.5, 255.255.0.0  FA0/5

trunk port on FA0/1 to connect the switches

on switch 1 i have:

company A on vlan 2 computers 172.16.1.102, 255.255.0.0

company B on vlan 3 computers 172.16.2.100 and 101, 255.255.0.0

trunk port on FA0/1 to connect the switches

now I can ping the respective computers on the same vlan but cant ping company A to B which is what I want. However neither company can talk (ping) the pbx.

Here are the commands I used to configure what I have.

switch 0

en

conf t

vlan 2

name A

vlan 3

name B

int fa0/10

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 2

int fa0/11

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 2

int fa0/12

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 3

int fa0/5

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-3

int fa0/1 (to connect the switches)

switchport mode trunk

Switch 1

en

conf t

vlan 2

name A

vlan 3

name B

int fa0/10

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 3

int fa0/11

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 3

int fa0/12

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 2