cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Questions about 881 Router

Jeremy Strain
Level 1
Level 1

I've been trying to teach myself vlans, IOS, and Cisco networking, so I bought an 881 Router, along with some older 3550 switches.  I'm very new to all of this, but it's been enjoyable to figure things out and play around with everything.

I've been successful in getting into each device and beginning to configure things, but I'm not sure if the 881 will let me recreate some of the examples I've come across.

Can the 881 perform Routing On A Stick?  Currently, I have the 881 just running as a typical router, with the WAN interface plugged into my existing home network.  The 2 3550 switches are plugged into fa1 and fa2 on the 881.  I've created a couple test vlans, and VTP (one of the 3550s is the server, the other switch and the 881 are clients) is updating them on the other devices.

Once I get into creating subinterfaces on the FA ports, I can't seem to do it on the 881.  It recognizes "int fa 1", but doesn't accept "int fa 0/1".  It's looking like the switch isn't layer 3, so I'm wondering if I can't run that setup with the 881.                  

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Are you dead set on using subinterfaces? Another way that you could do it is to create all of the vlans that you want, say 10, 20, and 30, and then create SVIs for those vlans. Then you could trunk the one port that connects to your 3550.

Something like the following:

int fa0

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

int fa1

int fa4

int vlan 1

ip address (all of your other ports, 0 - 3, belong to this one by default)

Then create your other vlans:

int vlan 10

ip address ...

int vlan 20

ip address ...

int vlan 30

ip address ...

Then on your 3550, you'd create the same vlans and then trunk the port that connects to fa0 on this router.

*** Edit ***