Views
Helpful
Replies

[Solved] Cisco UC520 Unable to connect to internet

Great-Force
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a student and next year we get the subject Cisco. So, I was allowed to take an old Cisco router from my work and use it to practise my command line skills and learn some stuff so that next year would be easier.

Because I don't have any experience with the command line, I decided to configure the router first with the Cisco Configuration Assistant and safe a back-up from the settings and then go learning the command line and practise the command line.

So, I configured the router perfectly. a couple of vlans, wifi networks, every single thing works. If I connect a computer to it, it get's an IP adress and everything works nicely. Except for one thing, I don't have internet access.

I have the following network setup:

Modem -> Sitecom Router (this one works) -> Cisco router

I hooked up one of the lan ports from the Sitecom router to the WAN port of the Cisco router, this should work, but it doesn't.

Then I tried connecting the WAN port of the Cisco router directly to the modem, as described in the Quick Start Guide, but that doesn't work either.

Yes, the WAN Port is active and configured as DHCP not Static or PPPoE.

NAT is turned off, but that should make a difference according to my collegue (if we are wrong feel free to tell).

If I look in the Sitecom router connected computers list, I don't see the Cisco router either. It looks like it doesn't have a MAC adress. But if I go to the command line and go to the interfaces bit. I see the "$FW_OUT" or something like that with an MAC address. I put that address with a static ip in my Sitecom router, but it doesn't recognize my Cisco router, so it can't give that ip.

Does anyone know how to fix this???

It should be possible to get it working right?

Kind Regards,
Maurice                 

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions