cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Best practice - dial plan question

Clutz5250
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently studying the CLCOR and trying to digest stuff relative to the environment I'm familiar with. So I'd like to do what i can to ensure I'm not crossing any wires.

Question:

+ dialing across the board seems like the desirable approach for dial plans, and normalizing at the gateway. Where I get confused is the matter of access code norms, so prefixing 9 for outbound (NANP) for example. Access code numbers sounds like the preferred paradigm? If that is the case, should the best practice be transforming + prefix to access codes at the CUCM (if there's no onnet matches), then let the gateway further normalize and strip the access code? Why couldn't you just keep it all + dialing (outbound) and remove the need for the numerical access code? Testing the waters because the latter seems like the way. 

26 Replies 26

b.winter
VIP
VIP

My 2 cents:
Normalization from an end users perspective, should be done already in CUCM.
From external, CUBE / GW should do it, and send +E.164 to CUCM, and should also receive it.

Access codes are "needed" because that's the old dialing habit from ISDN. There was no "+".
Technically, you could just have everything in +E.164, but then you have to teach your users.

To add to what @b.winter so correctly wrote. You should not transform + numbers to access codes, you should do the opposite, ie transform access codes into + numbers, then you route the call to either an on-net or off-net party depending on where the number resides.

Response Signature