Views
Helpful
Replies

A9K-ISM-100 and A9K-VSM-500 license

czsniper
Level 1
Level 1

Hi. 

This is my first post in this community and I am a newbie on Cisco products.

Recently I have bought three ASR-9010 to build my core network and because my plans include NAT64 and NAT things I decided to buy two A9K-ISM-100 cards and looking for third one. This time I have found an A9K-VSM-500 card but I cannot find anywhere on docs if I can use this card without a license. So my question is:

Can I use A9K-ISM-100 and A9K-VSM-500 without purchasing a license ?

Thanks,

Robert

8 Replies 8

smailmilak
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

I assume that you have bought the ISM-100 as refurbished or outside Cisco because it's EoL for a long time.

About licenses, technically you don't need them, but you will probably get logs about missing licenses. 
I advise not to use it without licenses, though. 

Thanks for your answer.

We are in a validation of a project, so we try to shrink the cost to the lower edge until we have a valid response. In this project are involved three small ISP with 200-500 users that will gather together 1000 users connected to the core and most of them will use NAT64. 

Error logs with missing licenses are not a problem at this moment for us if the board works like a licensed one.

I have understood right, we can use the board without a license for this test/validation (~ 3months) at full services without any interruption ?

pathiksohel
Level 1
Level 1

We want to deploy Carrier Grade Network Address Translation (NAT): CGN on a ASR9006 Router.

NAT on ASR9006 is completely new to us.

When we read the bellow link, it shows it needs license, Could any one please let me know details of the licenses requirements,

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/routers/asr-9000-series-aggregation-services-routers/data_sheet_c78-663164.html

ISM Software

Cisco ASR 9000 CGN License (1 per 5 million translations)

Cisco IOS XR Software Release 4.2.0 or later