Views
Helpful
Replies

CER License 10.5 Question

jt12an1811
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting on here and want to apologize ahead if I posted in the incorrect Community.  I did search the forum in hopes to find any answers regarding some licensing questions but didn't quiet find what i was looking for.

I recently just started working for a small school district (I'm new to CER) and we are running CER 10.5 with about 600 license installed for end devices.  In CUCM we have 567 registered phones and on Prime it shows we are using up 589 license for CER.  I found that the reason CER has a higher license usages than registered phones in CUCM was because the way we have our phone tracking on CER.  

We are currently switching out of cisco switches to brocade switches and cutover a small site of about 20 phones onto brocade.  We have IP subnet configured along with Manually added phones to track phones.  From what I was told, brocade switches aren't supported and CER won't track based by port, they have configure IP subnet and manually configuring phones so that PSAP can view the 911 call and see what room and site the call was made from.   

I'm not fully understanding why CER takes 2 license for 1 device.   I spoke to a Cisco engineer and he explained to me that the reason it is eating up 2 license for 1 device was because it was being tracked two different ways, for example manually added phone and IP subnet.   

From my understanding CER should only take 1 license per device no matter how many time it is tracked? 

" Cisco Emergency Responder server software and user licenses are ordered together as part of a configurable product part number. From Version 10, Cisco Prime License Manager manages user licenses for all Cisco Emergency Responder servers. One Cisco Emergency Responder user license corresponds to one device. "