cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How do you back up servers before an upgrade?

James Hawkins
Level 8
Level 8

Hi,

I have had some less than great experiences in upgrading MCS CUCM 6 and 7 systems to CUCM 10.5 caused by bugs, locale files etc.

These upgrades have included moving from MCS to UCS servers and so have not been time sensitive and I was able to work out the issues.

I now have a customer who wants to go from CUCM 8.6, Unity Connection 8.6 and UCCX 8.5 to the same systems running 10.5 running on the same UCS C series servers.

There are a total of 7 servers to upgrade and the UCCX CAD/CSD upgrades to roll out and we have a 48 hour window to complete this.

If everything works ok this should be enough time but if things do not go so well we would have to revert.

Cisco are pretty adamant that VMware snapshots will not work - see link below - and I am looking at ways that  I could roll back if everything goes to hell.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/voice-unified-communications/unified-communications-manager-callmanager/116459-technote-product-00.html

I would of course take the normal DRS backups and have all the media needed to rebuild the servers to hand but I want to think about other options that may be quicker. The options I can think of are:

• VMware snapshots - the concept looks ideal but Cisco do not seem to like them - does anyone use them? Could I use them if I powered off the servers first?
  • Power off servers and copy files to alternate storage - this would give me a backup but would take a long time (and big chunk of the change window)
  • Use a VMware backup solution such as Veam - from what I have read these rely on snapshots?

I would welcome any feedback on these ideas. I know the official Cisco line is that only DRS is supported but restoring the systems by rebuilding and restoring would be very difficult in the time available.

Thanks

8 Replies 8

Jaime Valencia