Views
Helpful
Replies

ADSL question for MER !!!

Francis Garcia
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks,

I got a question for you guys because I'm a little confused about a term that I've never used before.

I got a c1760 router with 2 ADSL wics. One of my services providers is using PPPoA in their networks and all is fine with the static IP address that I have with them, but, the other services provider is using a protocol called MER (Mac Address Encapsulation) that I don't know what is the equivalent for cisco. The real problem is that I cannot use my static ip address using PPPoA with that services provider, the only way to use my static IP address is using MER or using bridging from the ATM interface to my 1760's lan interface, and as you know I just have an FastEthernet interface in that router. I want to use my router as CPE, not the modem that they sent me.

Resuming - What is the equivalent of MER for Cisco? And If u have some samples of how to configure it, plz let me know.

Regards,

Francis

13 Replies 13

marikakis
Level 7
Level 7

My guess is that MER refers to "RFC1483 with MAC Encapsulated Routing" and the cisco equivalent would be "RFC1483 Routing". Guidelines for configuring this can be found at:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk175/tk15/technologies_configuration_example09186a008071a8a0.shtml#backinfo

Agreed!

Hi Francis,

Here's a sample configuration for MER (also known as enet encapsulation by some modems)

interface ATM0
 no ip address
 no ip redirects
 no ip unreachables
 no ip proxy-arp
 ip route-cache flow
 no atm ilmi-keepalive
 dsl operating-mode auto
!
interface ATM0.1 point-to-point
 description $ES_WAN$$FW_OUTSIDE$
 ip address dhcp client-id FastEthernet0 hostname router
 ip virtual-reassembly
 atm route-bridged ip
 pvc 8/35
  encapsulation aal5snap