cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Access Point C9115 cannot ping own interface

Stweak
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everybody, I am a University student, my colleagues and I need to work with Cisco Access Points (embedded and lightweight).

We figured out that the first step should be to upgrade the firmware of our AP (it's currently in version 16.12).

I seem to have a problem on mine, i cannot ping the AP with my client or on itself (using the serial console).

I connected the AP to a PoE switch and connected the serial port to my Linux client.

I wrote this simple configuration:

en

conf t

interface gigabitEthernet 0

ip address 10.2.201.16 255.255.255.0

no shut

exit

ip default-gateway 10.2.201.1

After that, I cannot ping it with my client and I can't even ping its own interface in the serial terminal.

Stweak_0-1697546475992.png

I would be happy to hear any piece of advice or help, we only are a group of students and we are no experts.

I apologize if i have made mistakes and if my post is in the wrong forum category.

I also want to add that yesterday, I began to write a post like this one but for unknown reason it started to ping and i could even access the GUI (of course I added the remaining commands of configuration needed). I started to update it through a TFTP server but the update failed because it couldn't download the second file apparently.

I then tried to reopen the GUI but, again, I couldn't ping the AP and it couldn't ping itself.

It has been multiple times that it does this to me, I tried to reset the AP using the reset button and also with the command:

wireless ewc-ap factory-reset

The switch that I use has only 2 Linux VM clients and the AP.

The Access Point is a C9115AXI-E, my colleagues and I all have the same ones.

10 Replies 10

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

not seen this issue before install many EWC cat 9K - make sure you have EWC firmware - post complete boot log here

follow below guide :