cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with WLC 5508 configuration

James060277
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all, first off let me start by saying I am very new to this so I apologize ahead of time but am very eager to learn. I have a WLC 5508 and a Catalyst 2960S as well as 3 AIRCAP 3502E access points. I have read books and watched tons of Youtube videos but I still cant get my access points to find the WLC. I am finally done beating my head against a wall and am hoping someone can help. 

15 Replies 15

marce1000
VIP
VIP

- So ,where are you stuck then ?

M.

-- ' 'Good body every evening' ' this sentence was once spotted on a logo at the entrance of a Weight Watchers Club !

I am stuck with the fact that the ap's wont show up in the wlc management. I feel like maybe i didnt set the switch up right or don't have something connected right. I am beyond frustrated. I ran the network assistant and this is what it shows me. I have one Ap that shows up both of my 2960S switches( CSA & CSA2) and the thing on the bottom right is my 5508. What should I do? Is there an example configuration that I could follow?                                                                                                               

Network.JPG

Steps as below :

1. Configure switch port access

2. VLAN have DHCP help config to get IP address from DHCP

3. DHCP have Option to setup WLC Controller to register

4. AP register with WLC conroller

here is the reference guide :

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/wireless-mobility/wireless-lan-wlan/70333-lap-registration.html

Good examples :

https://mrncciew.com/2012/12/27/understanding-dhcp/

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help