Views
Helpful
Replies

Need to enable Client-Link feature

aniket0422
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

Please help me. I am new to Wireless. This is my first wireless call.

We have requirement from customer where we have to enable Client-Link feature on all the AP's from Controller. There are total 85 AP's across customer location.

I found below link to do the same. But when i took access of controller i did not find any option to enable Client-Link as mentioned in screenshot attached [ i am attaching screenshots for reference ]

http://mrncciew.com/2013/03/17/configuring-clientlink/

Anyone please suggest how to do it from controller's GUI or CLI.

Is there any special requirement before doing changes like disabling 802.11a/b network before you configure.

Also, are below controller and AP models are supported to enable Client-Link on them. Any link to find it out.

Controller Model : AIR-CT5508-K9

AP Models:
AIR-CAP3702I-D-K9
AIR-LAP1242AG-A-K9
AIR-LAP1252AG-N-K9
AIR-CAP3602I-N-K9
AIR-LAP1142N-N-K9
AIR-LAP1242AG-A-K9
AIR-LAP1131AG-N-K9

Regards,

Aniket P. Raut

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Manish Mathur
Level 1
Level 1

Namaskar Aniket,

As per the article on mrncciew by Rasika, "Only APs that support 802.11n can use client link". Thus, the APs which don't support 802.11n (1131 and  1242) will not support it. Client link is nothing but  Transmit Beamforming. (You know how Cisco coins their own set of terms for any technology :) ).

Now, (I guess), Cisco removed the GUI option to enable/disable ClientLink after code 7.4.x or something.. Ideally, after this version, ClientLink should be already enabled. However, you can verify this in the command "show 802.11a" and "show 802.11b". You should see something like this:

Legacy Tx Beamforming setting.................... Disabled

This was disabled for me. To enable it, you would run the command:

(Cisco Controller) >config 802.11a beamforming global enable