cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Migrating those SVIs from IOS (7604) to IOS-XR (ASR9010)

amaurisrm23
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Folks,

I’m wondering what’s the recommended solution for migrating SVIs with HSRP from IOS to IOS-XR. I have little experience with IOS-XR but as per some Cisco documentation there’s no way to create similar concept of SVIs. I would like to have some insights about how to approach this escenario. As of now I’m just thinking to aggregate most as possible with 9300s for assuring a smooth transition until I figure out another way to do it.

Please any idea would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Amauris

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

I would definitely go with tagged subinterfaces and BVI's in that case.  I've also noticed that Cisco is promoting more the concept of using BDI's/BVI's for all layer 3 functions in the service provider routers, so this is likely becoming the best practice in general.

Here's a very basic, untested, and not-quite-ready-for-primetime sample of the general config areas involved, to give you an idea.

interface BVI10
 ipv4 address 10.10.10.2 255.255.255.248

interface GigabitEthernet0/3/0/0.1 l2transport
 encapsulation dot1q 10

l2vpn
 bridge group TEST
  bridge-domain TEST
   interface GigabitEthernet0/3/0/0.1
   routed interface BVI10

router hsrp
 interface BVI10
  address-family ipv4
   hsrp
    address 10.10.10.1

View solution in original post

Thanks Sam.  Forgot that part.

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

decode.chr13
Level 1
Level 1
Hello,

I think is the same as in IOS, except the hierarchy where you set it up.

Here is a short example:
https://community.cisco.com/t5/networking-documents/basic-hsrp-configuration-on-cisco-ios-xr/ta-p/3147683