Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies
Beginner

VLAN set-up

Hi everyone,

First I would like to introduice myself. I have been working for 1,5j in the IT after my bachelor diploma. During this course I have learned CCNA and found it very interesting, but also quite difficult. I love managing an infrastructure and like everything really controlled and seperated. Most of the time I implement small networks for the SMB-market, so I do both system management as network management. (Network management to the minimum)

Last week was the first time in 1,5j I worked with cisco equipment and to be honest, it was really nice to use the CLI again. I am not very good at it (except for the basic command), but I think I will be going for my CCNA since networks are very interesting.

Now for my question. We had a project with a larger company which has many office all over the world. The previous week we were setting up a VPN-connection to a different site in Denmark (in collaboration with an IT-er of this site). The firewall we are using is an ASA5505.

We came into the following problem: Only 2 desktops of the entire organisation need to have internet access (the desktops in the warehouse may not browse the internet) but all the devices should have access to the local printers. Also: all of the printers need to be accessed by servers in Denmark from the other sites over the VPN-connection.

I have made a visio drawing of my proposition to do this, but I am not sure if this is the best solution (looking at best practices). Could someone please review it and give some notes about my set-up?

Additional Questions:

• Isn’t better to make 1 trunk to switch and seperate vlans on switch? What about management?