Views
Helpful
Replies

VLAN set-up

uzma85222
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I am a CCNA student and as part of CCNA3 we have been asked to set up VLANs. We are connecting 4 hosts, 2 switches and a router. hosts 1 and 3 will be on VLAN 10 and hosts 2 and 4 will be on VLAN 20.

I am having trouble with the IP addresses. I am using a class C IP address starting with 192.168.???.???. I am not sure what IP address i need to configure on the router to allow the VLANs to communicate. And what IP addresses do I need to give to the hosts, I think they need to be subnetted but im not sure. Please can anyone help.

Thanks in advance

Uzma

18 Replies 18

kamal-learn
Level 4
Level 4

hi

first you have to know that each VLAN is a separate subnet if you have two vlans so you need two subnets.

the host that are in a vlan X that belong to the subnet S, must have ip addresses within this S subnet(if vlan 10 then choose 192.168.10.x/24) (for VLAN 20 use 192.168.20.x/24).

so PCs that are in a vlan the SVI switched vlan interface of that vlan plays the role of the gateway and you can create it using

interface vlan 10

ip address 192.168.10.1 /24

no shutdown

the same work do it for VLAN 20.

to make two vlan able to communicate you need a layer 3 device a router for example.

if your router has two fastethernet interfaces connect each to a different

switch and give it an address from the subnet of the vlan that is connected to.

enable routing on the router.(you dont need a routing protocol)

if you have one fastethernet interface in your router you are in a config called router in a stick. configure on that interface two subinterface , each represent a vlan, and configure the trunk encapsulation, enable routing .

go back to the switches connect them with a crossover,configure the link as trunk.

HTH.

do rate if does

a.hajhamad
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

Yes, you have two create two subnets as follows:

- VLAN 10 - 192.168.10.0/24

- VLAN 20 - 192.168.20.0/24