cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Best practice - dial plan question

Clutz5250
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently studying the CLCOR and trying to digest stuff relative to the environment I'm familiar with. So I'd like to do what i can to ensure I'm not crossing any wires.

Question:

+ dialing across the board seems like the desirable approach for dial plans, and normalizing at the gateway. Where I get confused is the matter of access code norms, so prefixing 9 for outbound (NANP) for example. Access code numbers sounds like the preferred paradigm? If that is the case, should the best practice be transforming + prefix to access codes at the CUCM (if there's no onnet matches), then let the gateway further normalize and strip the access code? Why couldn't you just keep it all + dialing (outbound) and remove the need for the numerical access code? Testing the waters because the latter seems like the way. 

26 Replies 26

Thanks again for the reply! 

Hopefully you don't mind pressing a bit more with #3; please bear with me. Going back to Bob from the US now in the UK, lets assume this: CUCM -> SIP -> CUBE -> SIP -> ITSP, and no transform being done on CUCM but rather on the CUBE: 

Bob uses his same old dial habit of 9011441519988776 while in the UK -> that globalizes to +441519988776 -> as we would expect there’s no pattern match for onnet during digit analysis and so it hits a generic route pattern in the device CSS ->  goes to local route group -> device pool points to london gateway per the local route group because of mobility group or phone EM -> so goes to london gateway as +441519988776 (again, no transform set in CUCM) -> hits Incoming dial peer matching -> second dial peer lookup then goes to outgoing dial peer to ITSP and it transforms +44 so that the pattern is now 0441519988776 (what the carrier expects).

so is this example fine... or should transforms ideally be set per gateway in CUCM? I get it probably depends on the environment to some degree.